For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript.
Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Frequently Asked Questions2018-10-31T06:33:43+00:00

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Do you use any artificial colours in your Marathon Spring Rolls?2016-03-10T10:54:01+00:00

No, we only use natural colours Crocin and Crocetin, derived from Gardenia Extract.

I see your products are made in Australian with at least 80% and up to 99% Australian Ingredients. What are the imported ingredients?2018-11-15T04:57:53+00:00

Our main ingredients such as, meat, cabbage and flour are all grown locally here in Australia, it is mainly our spices and flavours, some of which are Pepper, Curry Powder, Oregano, Soy Sauce, Oyster Sauce and the like, we need to source these globally due to the unavailability of commercial quantities grown here in Australia. However we also source our Feta from Bulgaria due to its high quality and our Great Northern/Kidney and Borlotti Beans from Canada. Our Frankfurts are purchased from another well known Australian manufacturer however they do contain a portion of imported pork as do almost all frankfurts sold here in Australia.

Are your products really Halal?2017-05-05T16:30:11+00:00

Our products that are labelled Halal are Halal, they are made using all Halal accredited ingredients.

How can your Chef Direct lamb shanks be shelf stable without artificial preservatives?2018-11-15T05:02:03+00:00

Our lamb shanks have been cooked using clever technology and packaging, technically speaking the product reaches, commercial sterility by being cooked in a retort vessel (giant pressure cooker) utilising heat and pressure for a controlled period of time. This process is used on many products in the marketplace, more commonly, baby food. This allows the products to remain shelf stable until the bag is opened, once opened the product should be treated the same as a fresh product.  The best way to think of this process is ‘modern canning’.

Are your Marathon Spring Rolls Halal?2016-03-10T10:55:05+00:00

No, our Spring Rolls are not Halal, although they do not contain Pork, the cooking medium we use to par fry them is not certified Halal.

On your ingredient list for Spring Rolls it states; Animal Fat, as an ingredient, What is this?2018-11-15T04:58:53+00:00

The Animal Fat refers to the cooking medium, (Beef Tallow) the Spring Rolls are par fried in.